Email #2

Hey mom
 
Thanks for the support, and thanks for all the letters! I love all of them!
 
I have been getting everyone’s dear elders and letters, as far as I am concerned. I do think there was some confusion on your end: I can write emails for 30 min a week, but I am free to respond in hand-written letters all day during p-day, which is Friday. I’m not sure what the rules will be like in Guatemala, but you will know in a week. Also, tell Randall and Jessica that I love the scripture case Randall gave me. I would love to see him before I leave, as well.
 
This week at the MTC-
It is my last week here, and it has been a tough one, to say the least. I have been very humbled this week, as I have found myself continually praying for the Lord’s help due to personal weakness and for help in the learning. I have definitely learned a lot about myself this week, as I have recognized some of the things in my life that I can eliminate in order to become a more consecrated servant of the Lord. This week we taught a few “investigators,” they are workers here, but nonetheless we taught them. I could feel the spirit helping me as attempted to speak some spanish, and it was a great experience. I have had a good amount of fun as well. We keep each other laughing a lot. I’ve found that humor is my greatest method for relieving stress. So long as I can keep myself and others laughing, I’m having a good time.
 
As far as flight plans go, I leave for Guatemala on the 31st. I arrive in Guatemala at 6am on August 1st. I’m super excited to go there. There are only 80 missionaries, and apparently we can street contact and go into the neighboring towns to buy things.
 
17 minutes left… I am so happy to get all the mail/support. I did get your package, with all the great things it included. I was a little upset to begin with because I didn’t have a picture of the family, but you sent me a few so thanks. Also, that beef jerky is key. Tis the first taste of real meat I’ve had for a few weeks.
 
So apparently I’ve gained a lot of man respect out here for my ability to do a one-handed pullup and rip apples in half during lunch. We do what we can. Literally, if has any value of entertainment, we do it. We laugh at the funniest things around here, things that would not be funny at all in the outside world. Somehow. Someway, the silliest things are so hilarious.
 
My companion is still doing well. We had the opportunity to give each other blessings this morning to cope with some of the demands and stress we are experiencing. It was a great experience, and I could feel my words being guided as I spoke the words of the blessing. The same goes for him. He gave me a powerful blessing that fit my needs although I didn’t tell him what to say. Earlier this morning, we had the experience to go to the temple and take part in some endowment work for the dead. Jeffrey R. Holland said in a talk I watched, that sometimes the brethren worry if we are fit to take upon such covenants. They are a huge deal. Bigger than I can comprehend, but I know I can strongly feel the spirit when I’m inside the temple, and it was so good for me to go this morning. I can’t tell you how inadequate I feel sometimes out here, but I know that there will be bright things ahead, so long as I excercise some faith and do my part.  I am trying to do my part. I’m trying hard. I make mistakes every day, and this changing process is rigorous…but it is happening. I hope by the end, I will be able to look back and know that I did my best. Keep me in your prayers and thoughts.
 
I hope the best things are going on over there in FL. I heard about Bruce, and it got me concerned. I hope he is recovering all right.
As far as emails go, I did your pictures. There were great, so thank you. I can’t email people back that are not related to me directly, so they will receive a reply in the mail.
 
Next week is going to be an adventure. There’s no telling what it’s going to be like to be outside of the states, so wish me luck.
Tell the kids and family that I love them, and that I think about them all the time.
 
Love,
Christian
 
(tell Lisa I got her letter, and that I wrote her back. I had a great experience with answered prayers and the power of prayer within the temple today, so that was sawheat. 45 seconds left… love you.) I hope I’ll be able to write longer in Guatemala.
Leave a Reply

