Email #9

Hello. This will be my last email from the MTC. It´s a good feeling.
Some good things have been going on this week. Last Monday, my
companion and I had the opportunity to go street contacting again. We
wanted to fulfill some big goals, so we prayerfully considered what we
could do in our 2.5 hrs. We mutually decided to pass out 10 book of
mormons, 20 pamphlets, and get 10 referrals. I am happy to say that
with some hard work we exceeded all three of these goals. It reminds
me of the scripture in james… or john that faith without works is
dead, being alone. Any person can have faith to fulfill a goal, or
expect a miracle, but those miracles will not come if the one asking
for them doesn´t act. A miracle is nothing more than an outcome of
correct application of faith and works. In other news, my companion
and I have been teaching some of the CCM guards. We have been teaching
four and have challenged three to be baptized. Each of them have said
yes, if they knew the church was true. The only way people can know of
the truthfulness of the church is by asking God, so we challenged all
of them to pray about Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon. Latin
people are very open to discussion about Jesus Christ, with the correct application of
doctrine, lives can change. This week I was blessed to get
some really nice letters from some people I didn´t know I even had an effect on.
It was very much appreciated. I have learned much this week. Even more
about charity. I cannot stress the scripture more, ¨he that saves his
life shall lose it, but he who loseth his life for my sake shall find
it.¨ How are we to lose our life for His sake? It says in the
scriptures that when you are in the service of your fellow men, you
are only in the service of your God. It also tells us that men should
be anxiously engaged in a good cause, and to be doing many things of
their own free will. I have been trying to take this to heart. I have
been looking for trash on the ground, straightening pictures, and
looking for troubled faces. I can promise, that somehow… it has changed
me. I am constantly reminded of the scripture in Romans, ¨do not
conform to the ways of the world, but be ye transformed by the
renewing of your mind.¨ I have been trying my hardest. Anything good
is hard to attain, and this is hard. It is hard to put others before
your will, but I know by my experience that therein lies true
happiness. Can you imagine a world where nobody thought of themselves
first? I don´t think there would be any problems. I do believe this
was the lesson I was to learn in the MTC. Spanish hasn´t been a
stress, and developing scripture studying habits before the MTC has
helped more than anything. This MTC experience was strictly for me to
learn the concept of charity. I will be forever thankful for that
president. He told me an interesting thing the other day. I told him
that I thought it would take me a long time to develop this gift of
charity. He told me that was not the case. Charity is a gift. You
receive it through prayer. When a gift is given, you receive it all at
once. Now that I know this, it makes sense. My thoughts have changed, and I
notice things differently after a strong prayer for charity. I think
the gift of charity can be bestowed upon us quickly, but it takes time
for us to throw off the carnal and natural characteristics within our
mind that so easily beset us. God intends for each one of us to have joy. “Adam
fell that men might be, and men are that they might have joy.” Any
feeling contrary to joy is most like from the adversary, for no man can serve to
masters. If any of you feel any degree of
unhappiness, take a look inside of yourself and see if some of the
ends don´t line up. If they don´t, take advantage of the atonement and have

 the joy and peace that Christ wants us to have. No one was sent here to
have anything else. Well family… I´m signing off. Next time you hear
from me, I´ll be in the field.  I´ll
be praying for all of you. Love, Christian. 

Leave a Reply

