Email #16…and a boy who has found his groove

Hey family, 
Just to confirm we had two baptisms and two confirmations this week! I have some pics here. Their names are Diana and her mom Ana. My companion and I are throwing fire like it´s our job, and the strange thing is.. it is our job. So I guess we are all in agreement. We are going to try to baptize 5 people this month. That is a goal, but goals are attainable based on the faith of the laborers. 
We found this new investigator. He is a star. His name is Franklin, and hes quite the miracle. My companion and I were walking next to an area where we´ve never been before, and we just mutually walked straight to this house where this man stood. I´m saying it was the beckoning of the spirit, but we stopped and he invited us in. He´s in the picture with in by the temple. He is 34, used to lived in the US, and he has done about everything in the book. He wants to change his life around big time, and so I told him that´s what we do. I left him a chapter to read in the book of mormon, and he read 3. One does not simply find someone to do that. The normal response to the question, ¨did you read¨ is…. estaba ocupado. I was busy. His response was, öh yeah, and I just kept going. I read all these chapters. Then he proceeded to discuss Laman and Lemuel, things like that. He´s a champ. I repeat. One does not simply find someone like him. I´m hoping he progresses and continues like he has. 
We are teaching another family, a very spiritual family. The are evangelicals, and they are a family of 5. I´m learning not to descredit the power of prayer. It blows my mind, and people receive revelation outside of the church too. This man tells us of visions he sees, he tells us revelation he receives during lessons, and for the most part everything he finds out in prayer is in accordance with the gospel. During a lesson, I passed him the Bible, and he told us missionaries that as I did that he heard the holy spirit tell him that we were chosen by God. Of course, we were super excited, and then he proceed to give us a nice discourse. I do believe he will progress, but sometimes we can manipulate spiritual revelation and become a little twisted in the way we receive or express it. 
This week has gone swell. My new companion is a boss, and I am learning a lot. My spanish is improving, so that is good. The food here is great. We eat a lot of tortillas, beans, rice, and chicken, but I gobble that stuff up. I eat more than anybody. I´m probably the biggest guy in this town. My companion always gets concerned when there´s a dark street or something, and I just tell him ¨listen buddy, nobody is going to rob someone who is a foot taller than him.¨ Therefore, we have not been robbed….todavia. 
I know the church is true. Everything is religious here, everything. Like I said, Jesus is a celebrity here. We can definitely see the difference between the spirit and what others offer. 
Loud preaching can never replace a small touch to the heart by a soft voice.
On a side note, there are almost as many Jehovah´s witnesses here as there are Mormons. I always joke around with them and ask what they´re preaching today. They´re good people. Yet, the missionary efforts don´t make sense if only 144,000 will be saved. But hey, that´s not our problem.
The doctrine of Christ. This is what should be taught in seminary. Every lesson we have is based around the doctrine of Christ. Faith, repentance, baptism, Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. If we teach the word of wisdom, we focus on faith, repentace, and how baptism can rid you of this sin, and how you must obstain from drinking forever. Everything is centered on the doctrine. Mom, I suggest you do the same in your teachings of seminary. Really, old time religion is what our religion is. Be baptized and be saved. Put an emphasis on the doctrine. You can´t go wrong there. Also, when disciplining a child, continue using the scriptures. Elder David Bednar said, the doctrine is always the answer. Always. We are the messengers of the doctrine. We present the message and the doctrine in a clear and simple manner, and they teach themselves. True conversion comes from learning the doctrine and aligning your life in accordance with it, not by punishment or change by fear. The mission is like that medicine for Captain America. Both your good and bad qualities are heightened, and we must choose to develop those which are good in order to lesson the bad.
Welp, got to go. I hope the elections are everything you dreamed of parents. Let me know when or if Mary gets her letter. Send me pics of that fat stomach of JJ, and keep Kate positive with the ACT, get Lizzie developing her talents in a humble way, tell Mary to stop growing so fast, and get JP studying the scriptures like he´s going to die tomorrow. Learning in our youth is key. IT is KEY. If we fail teaching them as a young person, they will never become the person they could´ve been.    It´s like training a horse. 
Nos vemos, 
much love, family.

Leave a Reply

