Email #21 and some fun pictures!

READ the EMAIL first before trying to understand what this picture is doing on here:
IMG_0144

IMG_0122

IMG_0147

IMG_0148Hello familia,
Hey… I got the package. Don´t you worry about it.

I´m saving it until Christmas, because I don´t want to ruin my Christmas I reckon. How is it going? I don´t think I have registered that I am an uncle. I probably won´t for 2 years.

I´m sending some pictures to all of you. I sent a gem. Everybody wears English shirts down here, but nobody knows what they say. I had to sneak this picture. I really hope you appreciate it. It´s quite the gem. The other pictures are some pictures in the area.

It´s called Acajutla. It´s on the coast or corner of El Salvador. You should google Earth it if you can. It´s super hot and humid. I´d say it feels like Florida, but seeing that Florida is probably getting a little chilly I won´t make that comparison. The streets are all cobblestone, and it is pretty nice for El Salvador. I´d say it is the most wanted area in the mission. I am quite grateful. El Salvador is a lot like Florida. Just picture Florida with mountains, rocks, and more tropical plants….and lots of chickens.

My companion is Elder Guerrero. Pres put me as senior companion, so I have to tend to the boy. I cannot say anything negative, but I am having to put forth a good example. Enough said at that. It helps me be better.

We arrived Wednesday, and so I started out putting dates for baptism. We put 3 for this month. Hopefully all the dates stand. The goal is 5, but we will see what we can do.

I do believe that the biggest lie concocted among the latino population is that Joseph Smith is our God, that the church is ourselves, and something about the Santa Maria. We will see what we can do. Expounding one false doctrine one at a time.

The area is still a little confusing. It´s a bit like a maze. I haven´t mentally figured out the directions yet, but once I do it will be easier to work with.

How´s the family doing? Getting ready for Christmas? We have a big mission Christmas activity on the 20th, so we´ll see how that goes. It should be fun.

Let´s see….Lessons I´m learning.

The definition of Christianity. I´d say true Christianity, to the core, is the decision to abandon everything for the God who created us. To deny all, and be willing to put everything on the line for the Lord. Whoever will go after Him, must be willing to take up His cross and not look back. I have been reading the book, Jesus the Christ, and I have been loving it. I´m hitting about page 350 after one week of reading. I would recommend it to everyone, especially you, mom, who are teaching seminary. It is a great read, and will explain every evidence and appearance of Jesus Christ in the New Testament.

I believe there are 2 conversions in every member. The first comes when we are baptized, or when we pray about the Book of Mormon for the first time. We receive a knowledge that the church in general, has been truly restored by the prophet Joseph Smith, and that the book of mormon is a true evidence of Jesus Christ.

The second: some members never find it. Some will discover it, but do not have the heart to accept it. This is an excruciating process, but if successful, brings sainthood. It defines a saint. It is the difference between an exalted being, and an inheriter of the Celestial kingdom. This comes when we give everything to the Lord. Everything. We literally consecrate our lives to Him. We have covenanted to consecrate our time talents, and thoughts to Him, but are we really doing it? Do we really comprehend that we are on Earth in the service of God? No, but that can be changed.

The excruciating part comes from the influence of Satan. There must be an overcoming. There must be a complete separation of power from Him, to the Lord. Yet Satan knows our weakness, and he has been well practiced in his art throughout the history of all time. So…good luck.

I love you family, times up.

-Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

