Email #29

Hey parents, thanks for the letters and the emails. I really do enjoy the pictures. Those cinnamon almonds. Those are money. Those things are so good. I forgot about the sheer splendor of those bad boys.

This week was good. We baptized a guy on Sunday. We will try to get 7 more this month, but I don´t know how likely that will be. There are 7 possibilities, and if everything works out, then we will baptize 7 more this month. We´ll just pray for the best. This week was super busy too. We had to move houses, go to San Salvador to fix my comp´s residential papers, go to Santa Ana for a meeting, and with Pday and all, we haven´t had much time to get a ton of work done. Whatever work you lack during the day affects your success three weeks in advance. We´ll try and really go hard to make sure that we don´t slump in the future.
Some funny things that happened this week: I sprayed ketchup all over myself in a burger place. The ketchup dispenser was clogged, and when it came out it squirted straight on my shirt. That was just a beaut. Later, my plaque fell off in the bus. For the remaining days until I got a new plaque, I went around as my companion Elder Contrerar. He had two… I lost two. Go figure. We were Elder Contreras. That was the best companionship unity I´ve had my whole mission.
We moved into a new house this week. It´s super nice, and I´ll send some pictures. Maybe it´s not super nice, but my perspective of a super nice house is very different now than before. I´ll let you be the judge, but as far as El Salvador is concerned, it is nice.
Going into San Salvador is a very interesting experience. El Salvador suffers economically, but when you enter San Salvador it´s like a new country. It´s very modern, and nicer than some of the big cities in the US. The temple is right in the middle, and is seen by everyone passing on the major highway. There are quite a few white guys over there starting and having their own businesses. You could make it big down here with a good degree from the states. Don´t worry. I will not move to San Salvador.
The mission is excellent. I would strongly encourage everyone to go. I can honestly say that personal progression, spiritualwise, speeds up ten times faster. This is all you think about. You read the gospel in the morning, and you teach it during the day. I cannot understand the lazy missionaries. It´s like failing a class in high school. You have to try to lose your focus. It’s hard to think about home when all you´re doing is being a missionary.
It is super nice to have time just to think all day. I think we build up these false reliances on objects to the point that we need them to function. It´s really nice to get real again. Music is even starting to get annoying. I´m going to be such a weird person when I get home, I reckon.
I´ve been thinking a lot about secondary sources, or beating around the bush. Things like that. Too many missionaries come out because they have stupid or selfish reasons for coming. I am no exception. Much repentace was made. Say for example, you want to serve your family. What´s the higher motive? What is the most raw reason for having to do what you´re doing? Serve God, then any other motive you had will fulfill itself. It´s the same with teaching. Teach the people to repent, and then they´ll stop drinking. Trying to get a person to stop drinking by teaching them to stop drinking is somewhat shallow and superficial. Find the most core motive, and teach them that. This principle applies with anything in life. I do believe that is why when Jesus was asked, “What is the greatest commandment?” He said, “thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all they heart, might, mind, and strength.” If you can do that with all honesty, then everything else follows.
President´s really cracked down on the missionaries. Not many are teaching the way Preach my Gospel says to teach. For this, every missionary had to be certified to teach. They had to demonstrate to the Zone Leaders, that they could teach all the doctrine with sciptures, testimony, commitments, and questions. It went well. Not too many passed, but it was good for the mission to do. Preach my Gospel is an amazing book. If an incoming missionary could learn all the lessons in chapter 3 excellently, they will be way ahead in the field. Chapter 10 is also excellent.

How´s seminary going, mom? How many kids do you have in there?

Tell Jp, I love him. He´s a good little man. Get him reading those scrips. Those pictures you sent, mom, were excellent. Thank you. Mary looks so much older. Lizzie too. They all do. Cub is looking good and healthy. He looks more like a labrador than Bear did. He´s getting a good square head, and is super trim.
I hope the best. Enjoy the pictures.
Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

