Email #30

Hello family,
This week was super chivo. Super cool. We had a bunch of lessons and all with members, we put a bunch of baptismal dates and missionary stuff. We have three baptisms set for this Sunday: two brothers and a mother of a different family. The following week we are hoping the parents can get baptized and some other people. Thanks for the letters and the pictures. The pictures of the baby look good. Looks like Jessica is a little more healthier. She was looking a little weak in some of those past photos.
Kate got best smile… that orthodontist did work. He was doing something right. Kate also got into ID. Well, we know she´s shipping out this August, so I bet she can relax a little bit.
Hey dad, there´s this missionary out here named Elder Bockelman, or Ashton Bockelman. He´s very interested in the ranch and might go out there to visit after the mission. He´s my Zone leader, and is a super hard worker. He´s interested in a job, and if he goes out there, give him a consideration. He finishes his mission in the end of march.
I sent some excellent pictures. One of them portrays the classic colored house in El Salvador. One is with a girl that lives here. If you zoom in you can see a big birth defect on her neck. She´s the sweetest thing ever. Those kids with defects like that always have a special spirit about them.
The mission is great. I sent you guys some cards yesterday, so who knows when they´ll arrive. The lady said 8 days. The spanish is good. Everything is floating together and things are racing by. I feel like I write emails every day. The weeks pass like days, and the changes like weeks. I already passed 7 months, and I can hardly believe it.
We teach English classes twice a week here. That´s always a great occasion to look forward to. I don´t think I can teach them anything, but people show up. There has been 1 that went to church for our efforts. For the least, there are fruits of this labor.
The pic of Jp had me giggling. Ole´black bart himself. I remember going through a stage like that. The george strait stage. Just playing the guitar and painting fake mustaches.
I can´t believe you are grandpas now. What´s going on?
How are the seminary kids? Get those kids reading the scriptures. Even kids that read everyday won´t be strong enough in the future. They have to start learning how to mark, or take notes… have a study journal. Randall started me on my own book of revelations. It is becoming one of my favorite things to have. The more you write things down, the more you have.
One problem that I had before the mission was confusing revelation with your own thoughts. The two are inseperable once you can understand. Satan can tweak things to make thoughts seem like revelation, and lead you carefully away. However, the spirit of revelation is different. D&C 8:2-3. The Lord will speak to your mind and heart. Revelation goes to the heart. It enlightens and edifies. It clears the mind and casts out darkness. I can guarantee if you sit there wondering if it was revelation… you can know it wasn´t. You won´t argue or question it.

Love you all family,
Elder Jacobsen.

Leave a Reply

