Email #41

Thanks for the pictures, mom. I enjoy those. Sounds like Dad and Randall had a interesting experience with the horses the other day. Good thing you`re a viking. Just lift that horse right off. How was my pride and joy doing?

This week was good. We had a multizone. It`s where the president comes and talks with three zones and trains us all. He taught us about using the planner better… I got a good machete. I`m not very organized, but hey.. It`s a learning process.

Acajutla is on fire over here. The president is going to send another pair of missionaries over here next change. We`ll see what happens.

Mom, I finally paid off for splitting my head open so many times. This week a new missionary was in a well digging, and a shovel fell on his head and split it wide open. Instead of rushing to the hospital and doing all that cute stuff, I went to a store, bought me some super glue and glue that bad boy shut. The president and his wife make pretty funny comments. They were a bit surprised that I used glue, but I told them that was Russell M. Nelson`s advice….Apparantly the cowboy titles also qualifies me in super glue skills.

We didn`t baptize that family of 4 last week for health problems, but they have a baptismal date for this Sunday. We`re excited for that, and we`re preparing everything up.

The new chapel in Acajutla is opening on the 12th of May. This week we have to organize an open house. It`ll be difficult to juggle everything, but that`s the fun of the mission. The president will be coming for the open house, and we hope to have a good number of baptisms that day.

We married the Alvarez family last week. It`s pretty funny, but those weddings down here cost about 30 dollars. Dad, that`s the dream right there. Marry me down here in El Salvador. All you have to do is buy me a birthday cake. No suit or anything. Just come as you are. We get so caught up in money and material stuff over there.

I loved the pictures. Mom`s becoming excellent with those camera skills. The baby is looking good, Jessica looks nice and healthy, and looks like not much has changed. It seems strange that a year ago I came back from BYU. Time needs to slow down a bit. Seems like I blinked my eyes and I`m here. Time is very important, and I promise that I`ll never waste it again.

The mission changes everything in life. These days, a boy cannot change into a man without the mission. There are too many lessons that are learned here. It really helps you step back from the world, helps you analyze it, learn how it works… and then attack it. Before the mission, a man lives a life in defense. Enduring through temptation… and overcoming. In the mission you analyze it. I understand how it changes people.. I repent to get rid of it, and eventually you take the offensive side. Baptizing, preaching repentance, and helping others overcome. It is a great experience.

I don`t understand or really remember who I was before the mission. It wasn`t who I wanted to be. I`m not saying I`ve became weird or different. The good qualites are better, more balanced, and the bad is going away.

Love you all. Keep sending updates, pictures, and I hope that package gets here, I reckon.

Love,
Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

