Email #65

Hey Family

Good afternoon President,

We had a great week. Even though we didn`t bring anyone to church, we are laying the foundations in the area, as well as the zone, for a good future. We have spent this past week meeting all the members, and assuring that they can work in the vineyard of the Lord. We have been sharing the scripture in Lucas 5:4-6, which talks about how the Lord invited Peter to throw the net again. As he listened to the counsel of the Lord, they broke their net. We have been sharing this scripture with the members, and have been inviting them to listen to the counsel of the prophets: one of these being Elder Ballard`s challenge to gift the gospel to a friend before Christmas. We are seeing in our area, that as we share this scripture, as well as the invitation to listen to the counsel of the prophets, the members respond. I believe we have gained full confidence with the members, not as friends, but as teachers, and they are helping us every day to find and contact friends as well as less-active members.
We shared the same scripture idea with the zone last Thursday. We saw a tremendous increase in the amount of references contacted with members in the past week, as well as an increase in lessons taught in the house of member. I am sure that as we keep up the same method of work, we will see great results in the coming weeks. Baptisms, dates, and people brought to church take time. However, I know that what we are doing in the zone right now, is building the sure foundation for the future. I believe that the zone now understands the proper source of new investigators: the members. They are responding to the call of the prophet, and I know that the Lord will bless the zone as well as the members as we continue following this counsel.

Missionaries have a tendency to lessen the work level after a successful week. In order to ensure that the zone doesn`t follow the “wave” pattern, I will monitor the key indicators daily, and will call the areas that need help and will help them establish appropriate goals for the day. A great example of this is how we helped the area San Lorenzo. Friday, they had 2 news, and very few lessons with members. We called them that night and put some goals with them, to help them find 4 news, 1 family, and have 4 lessons with member. That day they overpassed all of their goals, finding 6 news, 1 family, and teaching 6 with member. It is delighting for me to see what guided influence can do with another person. I feel like the Lord is helping me become a better steward over this portion of the mission.
As far as the personal goals I have set with you, I can honestly say that I have seen a great improvement. The members, from what I can see, love and respect me and are very willing to help me out. The zone, as I go in interchanges and interact with them, they grow to respect my counsel. They repeat the same counsel in their districts, and that has brought the success with members last week. I have been very careful over the key indicators. I study them daily, and am taking action if someone steps out of line. I feel like this is what the Lord expects of me, and what He wanted me to learn last change. I will continue doing so, and will continue improving what I lack.
I am pleased with the work of Elder T and Elder S. Elder Thorton is a quiet man, but he takes great care over his district and makes sure to guide them in the right direction. He is very humble and willing to take advice, and constantly looks to improve and dedicate himself more to the mission. We are having a little trouble with Elder C trying to help him be more responsible. He doesn`t take the iniciative, and doesn`t like advice. I am going on interchanges Wednesday and will talk to him. If he doesn`t improve, I would advise that he leave the leadership program. However, I will talk to him sincerely, and will try to help point him in the right direction.
We expect many investigators this week in church. Although none went, it usually takes 2 Sundays to bring that person to church. We have many seeds planted and we hope that they can bring excellent fruits in the future. The same goes for the zone. November and December will be successful as we keep working in this form.

Thank you for you work and guidance,

Well, family….

Lizz looks so old. I can`t believe it. The work is going well. We are building a good foundation in the zone. I feel happy and at peace.

The picture I sent is a picture of a parrot bite on my arm. I tried getting a picture with the parrot, so I stuck my arm out to let it sit on me, but it bit me and yanked instead. Hey… it`s not everyday that a parrot bites you! I`m pumped.

Well, we`ll keep on keepin on.

Love you family,

Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

