Email #73

Hey family,
I had a good week this week. I had the opportunity to go to the temple. It was a great experience and was able to witness the session in HD and newness. It was amazing. While I was there, I ran into my boy Elder Garcia: the kid I trained in Acajutla. I was thrilled. He is now a zone leader, both my boys are, and they are doing great. Elder Garcia told me that all the family we baptized in Acajutla are active, and even the friends and family of them were baptized. I was overjoyed, and really experienced a sweet satisfaction. Sounds like I have some temple sealings coming up, starting in April. There is no better feeling in the world, than to know that the Lord has used you to accomplish His purposes. As Thomas S. Monson said, to be on the Lord´s errand is the sweetest feeling. It´s not just good enough to be defensive members of the church, merely “avoiding sin,” and fleeing Satan. We should be offensive members. We should fight against sin, and make Satan squirm. This is a great motto for life. It fills us with the spirit, give us more protection, power, and blesses many many lives.

We are planting many seeds here in Atiquizaya. I don´t know how quick they will be baptized, but I know that we will, at least, baptize three families here in a bit. There is no greater joy for me, than to baptize and help the families out here. The mission, more than anything, has really taught me that the gospel blesses families. It is the basic unit of society. Being out here… everyone fornicates, and commits adultry. For this, this nation is suffering. The kids don´t have good parents, so they are raised badly. It is great to find a complete family, commit them to Christ, and help them progress. When we baptize one family, we baptize millions. That is my goal. It has helped me realize what I need to do in my future family as well… or better, what not to do.

We´re jamming out to Christmas over here. I´ve been going Christmas since October, and I´ve been rocking Christmas ties every day of the month. “It´s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.”

Mom, I’ve been thinking about the seminary kids… It´s like training horses. If you don´t get them while they´re young, you don´t get them. Kids these days can´t afford to not have scripture reading and prayer habits while they´re young. Relying on the parents doesn´t work anymore. The teenage years and the critical ones, that´s why Satan works so hard. Bear your testimony. Teach about the Plan of Salvation. Teach the Plan of Redemption. The role of Jesus Christ. The purpose of their life. The doctrine is the answer. Doctrines influence principles, and principles influence action. We can´t just punish actions by telling them “don´t do that.” We must explain the “why.” If they understand the role of Jesus Christ in God´s plan, and if they understand the Satan is the enemy to this plan, it will help open minds and hearts. Read “The plan of Salvation” in Preach my Gospel, and focus on the first section, “the premortal life, and God´s plan.” God wants us to learn and grow, and become like Him. For this, He sent us here, gave us bodies, and a Savior to show the way and make it possilbe to return. The enemy is Satan. We must learn during this life to follow Jesus Christ in order to return with God and fulfill His purposes for us. Don´t be afraid to tell them the God wants us to become like Him. That´s not secretive, but very eye-opening. We are children of God, it only makes sense.

Love you,

Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

