Email #80

Hey family,

Well it`s been a big week. There are some big changes coming up.

The biggest news… I`m training again! I think for the last 6 months of the mission I`ll be training new missionaries. I`ll be shedding the ZL responsibility here this Wednesday, so I`m pretty excited for that. The other day I was praying to God that He might give the area that needed me the most for the next few months. I told Him that the assignment didn`t matter, and that`d I`d like to train and just focus on working for the next few months… A day later, I got the call that I`m going to train. I am very excited and grateful for the new opportunity. I`ve always said that the favorite part of my mission was when I trained. I had so much time to study, learn, teach, and work. I feel like God has answered my prayers and has given me this opportunity to work for the next 6 months training new missionaries.

I`ll be leaving the area and opening a new one. I`m not sure where I`ll be going, but we`ll see.

The picture here is a picture of me with some of my friends here in Atiquizaya. We always tried teaching these boys and getting them to go to church and the mission, but we never could quite pull it off. They are fun guys, but they haven`t progressed in the gospel.

Many missionaries have the misconseption that if you`re not an AP or if you are a trainer that you are somehow a bad missionary. I would like to say that is a misconception. God loves all of us and always has different plans for each and everyone of us. Perhaps the people in this new area need to hear what we have to teach. I`ve always said… throughout my whole mission I do not remember the positions I held… the number of new investigators I have found, or how many people I have baptized. I remember the people. I remember the families that have been converted to the gospel, and thinking of them fills me with joy and appreciation for the mission. I`m not the best missionary. I`m very rough around the edges and sometimes have trouble controlling my tongue, yet the Lord has blessed me as I have put Him first. We can resolve the weaknesses as I go on.

Thank you for the letter and the support.
I love you,

Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

