Email #81

Well hey family!

I have a new kid! His name is Elder Pablo, and he´s from Guatemala. He´s about 5´0″. He´s a great kid, he speaks english too, so we enjoy chattin it up in English.

I´m in this new ward called “Aldea.” The funny thing about this place is that it is right next door to my first area, Colon. It´s really strange to see the streets I walked on when I started the mission, and I´m training. It makes me feel like I´m starting my mission over again.

I love the ward. It is an excellent ward. We have the stake president, the patriarch, and all of the members help us out alot in what we do. We´ve been able to get them out of the house and work with them in contacting their neighbors and teaching their friends. I believe we will have much success.

I love training. I love having new companions that listen, and love to work. It´s nice have a person who is relying on you to work. I feel like we’re cranking up the old miracle engine again, and that we´re back in business.

It´s great to be able to study as much as we study in training. We have the whole morning to read and study the basic material. I could read all day if I had to, but it is great to have that morning to study and review the gospel material. Right now I´m finishing off D/C again, and I´m reading a book by Thomas S. Monson that I found in the house.

In the 3 days we had to work, we managed to wrangle up 2 new people to bring to church. They were member referrals, so the member took them to church, the member taught them, and the member basically did it all. When we work in the right way, the work becomes much easier.

So my good friend Elder T_____ (first comp in Molino, and my DL) lives right by us in A____. He´s my ZL now, and was AP last change. He´s one of my best friends in the mission. We´ve passed the whole mission together, and now we´re going to finish it together in the same ward.

I love you family. Keep looking for missionary opportunities. Say a specific prayer asking God to help you find someone for the missionaries to teach, and you´ll find many.

I love you,

Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

