Email #89

hey family,

General Conference was great, and it was amazing to think that this was the last one in the mission!

RJ came home already? I can`t believe it… That is crazy. What are his plans for school and things like that?

I loved General Conference. One really can know that they are prophets and apostles of the Lord when they speak. One cannot deny that this is the church of Christ when they listen and feel the spirit of what they say. It reminds me of the time when Jesus ate with those that didn`t recognize him. After eating, he vanished from their sight, but it left them pondering. They said something along the lines, “did you not feel how your heart burned within you as he read from the scriptures?” These feelings come from the Holy Ghost, and those that are true messangers from Christ can transmit these feelings to other people.

I loved the talk from Elder Anderson. We cannot conform to the ways of the world even if the “times are changes.” Although the times change, God`s law never changes. Talks like these hit it home for me. I felt as though that is what God will have me do. I would like to defend the church`s principles and help the world see the light in that form.

I loved as well the talk from D. Todd Christofferson. His talk about the resurrection was amazing. Just as the Book of Mormon is the proof that this is the true church, the resurrection of Christ is the keystone to knowing that all He did was true.

Mom, I you should watch Dallin H. Oak`s talk on the priesthood during the priesthood session, and try to wrap the brain around that one.

I loved David Bednar`s talk as well. Sometimes the loads of life are the things that give us the spiritual traction to push forward.

This week… It was good. it was nice to be able to relax a bit and watch conference. It was very refreshing. It`s interesting how my mission has changed and went through phases… In the beginning it seemed I couldn`t have more success. In the second phase, the success wasn`t seen until after I left the area, and there was much…Now, I`m just kind of going through the classic famine stage with no sort of success… but hey. We`re having a good time. I feel like the Lord has given me these different circumstances to widen my perspective and help me understand patience, humility and blessings as well. But it is all great. The work is the same. We preach repentance, and we can`t control how the people react, but we can always be constant on our half of the work. Therefore, I am at peace, for I have been trying my best in a constant manner.

I reckon I`ll have about 21 months in the mission this week. Only 3 left. Let`s make them the best. It`s a nice feeling to know that everything is ready for my return. I have a car, a class schedule, and a house… heck Kate even says I have a job. Can`t complain. Yet, I know that when I put God first, He puts me first as well and guides me in my paths.

Well family,
I love you all. See you in a bit.

Elder jacobsen

Leave a Reply

