Email #92

Hello family,

This was an excellent week.

We had a baptism yesterday. His name is M___ C____. The great news of the baptism, was that the boy brought all of his family and extended family members. Just that boy alone has given us investigators to last us for a long while. The mom loved the church and told me that she was getting baptized next… “ok… let`s do this.” The dad is just as positive, but he wasn`t able to go for work. He normally doesn`t work on Sundays but they had him working last Sunday.

Do you remember the picture of that cute little girl I sent? Well, we`re teaching her parents and they are very positive and responding very well to the gospel. They were able to go to church yesterday and they loved it. Their three children are members, expect for the little girl (she`s only 6). Sounds like the missionaries have been working on them for awhile, but until now are they listening. They only have one small problem… the man is married to another woman and has to get divorced then remarried to his current wife in order to get baptized. We have faith that we`ll be able to take care of things.They are a great family, and I think they`ll be up for the long process.

It has been a great week. Investigators are coming out of the woodwork lately.The Lord has been blessing us. Lately my prayers have becoming stronger and our fasts better. We`ve been asking the Lord to lead us to those who are really ready and are prepared to hear the gospel, and the Lord has helped us find them. It`s kind of tricky here in the ward… There are 6 missionaries in the ward, and we all seem to fight for the references… but we seem to be getting them all. 🙂 The early bird gets the worm.

There are always people ready to hear the gospel. The gospel is not a forced thing, but the process begins with an invitation. A simple invitation can bring about marvelous outcomes. I was thinking of dad`s situation. Because of an invitations, all of these people have been converted in El Salvador, and who knows how far that will go? Someday we might be able to see. The point is, we should always invite others to know more about the church. I remember back home I`d always bring my buddies to church, but I didn`t know anything about missionary work and nothing ever came out of it. Looking back on that makes me scratch my head a bit, and makes me a little upset. A good friend`s invitation can change so many things.. Invite, invite, and invite. Don`t pressure, or force… for the Lord`s elect “hear His voice, and harden not their hearts.” They always respond “yes.” That has been my experience with all of our good converts. Invite. The home life doesn`t have to be very different from the mission life. We can always share the gospel.

I was thinking about you coming to pick me up. I think it would a good idea, and would be nice for you to meet some of the converts I`ve had, and experience the things I`ve seen. It`s up to you, but it`d be fun.

Well parents, I love you.

Know that I am doing well, and that I love the mission. The work is expanding right now, and it is a great opportunity to be part of it.

I love you,

Elder Jacobsen

Leave a Reply

